St Louis: Presidential Debate


Washington University in St. Louis (WashU, or WUSTL) is a private research university located in St. Louis, Missouri, United States. Founded in 1853, and named after George Washington, the university has students and faculty from all 50 U.S. states and more than 120 countries.[8] Twenty-five Nobel laureates have been affiliated with Washington University, nine having done the major part of their pioneering research at the university.[9] Washington University’s undergraduate program is ranked 19th by U.S. News and World Report[10] and 11th by the Wall Street Journal in 2016.[11] The university is ranked 23rd in the world by the Academic Ranking of World Universities.[12]

Washington University is made up of seven graduate and undergraduate schools that encompass a broad range of academic fields.[13] Officially incorporated as “The Washington University,” the university is occasionally referred to as “WUSTL,” (pronounced /whu- stḷ/) an acronym derived from its initials. More commonly, the school is referred to as “WashU”. To prevent confusion over its location, the Board of Trustees added the phrase “in St. Louis” in 1976.[14]